Header image: AI-generated illustration. Not a photo of any property listed here.
Quick Answer: Which Kyoto Stay With a Private Bath Fits You?
Searching for a Kyoto ryokan with a private onsen? A private bath and a hot spring aren’t the same thing. This list mixes ryokan and hotels (Suiran is a hotel). Official sources say the room baths use hot spring water at five of the eight: Suiran, Hanaikada, Sumiya Kihoan, Seryo and FUFU KYOTO. Kadensho labels its private baths “wakashi-yu” (heated water) and names only a bath in its large bath as natural Arashiyama Onsen. Nazuna Kyoto Tsubaki St.’s booking page says the bath in the room isn’t a hot spring, and Ryokan Yachiyo says its public bath isn’t natural hot spring but doesn’t describe its room baths. Heated doesn’t automatically mean “not hot spring,” because hot spring water can be heated too, so we go by what each page says the water is. We marked what each page doesn’t say.
Scroll sideways to see the full table.
| If you want… | Look at | What the official sources say |
|---|---|---|
| Natural hot spring water in your room, in Arashiyama | Suiran | 17 of its 39 rooms have an open-air bath with natural spring water (City of Kyoto onsen listing). |
| A hot-spring room close to Arashiyama’s stations | Hanaikada | Rooms with open-air hot spring baths include a detached villa suite and 10- and 8-tatami rooms (official site). About 5 minutes on foot from Hankyu or Randen Arashiyama Station (City of Kyoto listing). |
| Hot spring baths in the room, outside the city | Sumiya Kihoan | Its six Kihoan rooms have private open-air baths with free-flowing hot spring water, and its six Mountain Terrace rooms have hot spring open-air baths on a wooden deck (official room pages, in Japanese). It’s in Yunohana Onsen, Kameoka. |
| A quiet hill setting near Sanzen-in | Seryo | Two rooms have open-air baths, and the room pages say the water is hot spring (onsen) water. The City of Kyoto lists the inn as a hot spring facility. Dinner and breakfast are included. |
| A hot spring bath in every room, near Nanzen-ji | FUFU KYOTO | All guest room baths use natural hot spring water (official FAQ). About 7 minutes on foot from Keage Station. |
| A private bath in central Kyoto (not hot spring) | Nazuna Kyoto Tsubaki St. | The official page says each of its 23 rooms has a semi-open-air private bath, and the booking page says the in-room bath isn’t a hot spring. |
| Private baths next to an Arashiyama station | Kadensho (Arashiyama) | Five free private baths are labeled “wakashi-yu” (heated water). The official site names the indoor stone bath in the large bath as the natural Arashiyama Onsen. |
| A family stay or a tattoo-friendly bath | Ryokan Yachiyo | Children are welcome. The official FAQ says guests with tattoos are welcome in the bath facilities. |
Kyoto Ryokan and Hotel Comparison Table
Checked October 7, 2026. Prices for the rooms we checked are in the price section below. Booking sites’ room lists can differ from the property’s own site and may not include the rooms with the baths described here, so check the room name and bath before you book.
Scroll sideways to see the full table.
| Stay | Area and access | Bath | Hot spring water in the room or private bath? | Kids | Tattoos |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Suiran | Arashiyama, Kyoto City. About 6 min on foot from Randen Arashiyama; about 15 min from JR Saga-Arashiyama | 17 of 39 rooms: open-air bath. Two private open-air baths | Stated: yes, in those 17 rooms (City of Kyoto listing) | Not stated | Not stated |
| Hanaikada | Arashiyama, Kyoto City. About 5 min on foot from Hankyu or Randen Arashiyama | 4 of 15 rooms with hot spring baths; reservable open-air bath (11:00–23:00, last entry) | Stated: yes, in its hot-spring rooms (official site) | No age rule stated for the hot spring rooms | Not stated |
| Sumiya Kihoan | Yunohana Onsen, Kameoka (outside Kyoto City). Reservable shuttle from JR Kameoka Station | 6 Kihoan rooms and 6 Mountain Terrace rooms with private open-air baths (3 more rooms have indoor hot spring baths) | Stated: yes: free-flowing in the Kihoan rooms; hot spring in the Mountain Terrace rooms (official room pages) | Welcome in some rooms (4 of the 6 Kihoan hot spring rooms) | Not stated |
| Seryo | Ohara, Kyoto City. Next to Sanzen-in | 2 rooms with open-air baths | Stated: yes, hot spring (onsen) in the open-air baths (room pages). How the room-bath water is handled isn’t described separately | Not stated | Not stated |
| FUFU KYOTO | Nanzen-ji area, Kyoto City. About 7 min on foot from Keage Station | Hot spring bath in every guest room (cypress). No communal baths | Stated: yes, in all guest rooms (official FAQ) | Children of all ages welcome | Not stated |
| Kadensho (Arashiyama) | Arashiyama, Kyoto City. 1 min on foot from Hankyu Arashiyama | 5 free private baths; large bath | Mixed. The 5 private baths are labeled “wakashi-yu” (heated water). The official site names the indoor stone bath in the large bath as natural Arashiyama Onsen, and says the large bath’s open-air rock bath isn’t hot spring | No age limit stated; ages 3 to preschool pay a ¥2,200 facility fee | Not stated |
| Nazuna Kyoto Tsubaki St. | Shimogyo, Kyoto City. 7 min on foot from Hankyu Omiya or Keifuku Shijo-Omiya | Semi-open-air private bath in the room (the official page says all 23 rooms; a rate note on the booking page says “Some guest rooms excluded” without naming rooms, so confirm the bath for the room type you book) | No. The booking page says the in-room bath isn’t a hot spring | Guests aged 5 and under aren’t accepted | Not stated |
| Ryokan Yachiyo | By Nanzen-ji, Kyoto City. 5–10 min on foot from Keage Station | Private garden baths with a Hinoki wooden tub in 6 main-building rooms (the ryokan calls them “onsen style”); shared private bath (one free 45-minute session) | Not stated for the room baths and private bath. The FAQ says its public bath isn’t natural hot spring | Children welcome | Welcome in the bath facilities (official FAQ) |
How We Sorted the Baths
We used three labels, based only on what each property’s own page or the City of Kyoto’s onsen listing says.
- Hot spring stated: the page says the room or private baths use hot spring water (Suiran, Hanaikada, Sumiya Kihoan, Seryo, FUFU KYOTO).
- Not hot spring, or labeled heated water: Kadensho’s page labels the private baths “wakashi-yu” (heated water) and points to hot spring water only in a different bath. Nazuna Kyoto Tsubaki St.’s booking page says the bath in the room isn’t a hot spring.
- Not stated: the page says “private bath” and nothing more (Ryokan Yachiyo for its room baths and private bath, though its FAQ says its public bath isn’t natural hot spring).
Heated water and hot spring water aren’t opposites. Hot spring water can be heated or recirculated: Seryo’s hot spring page, for example, says its baths use circulated, heated hot spring water. So we didn’t sort by whether the water is heated. We sorted by whether the page says it’s hot spring water. Booking-site labels such as “Private hot springs” aren’t proof, so we didn’t use them. Where we couldn’t find a detail, we wrote “not stated” instead of guessing.
Prices We Checked for March 10, 2027
How we checked. We checked the details in this article on October 7, 2026, using each property’s official website and booking page, and official pages from the City of Kyoto and Kameoka City. Prices, availability and cancellation terms change, so confirm the latest terms on the page where you book before you book.
On October 7, 2026, we looked up prices for one night, two adults and one room on March 10, 2027, and we checked them again on October 10 and October 12, 2026. The totals were the same each time, except at FUFU KYOTO: the Stylish King Double we first checked (¥68,800 with breakfast) showed no vacancies on October 12, so the table now shows the Comfort Twin. We found prices for five of the eight stays (six rooms or plans), all on the properties’ own booking sites. Suiran’s own site didn’t list its onsen rooms for the date, and we couldn’t read prices for Seryo and Kadensho, so this isn’t a price comparison of all eight. These rows aren’t a ranking either. The rooms, meals and plans differ, and each row says what the price includes. Totals are for two adults, in yen as shown.
Scroll sideways to see the full table.
| Stay | Total | Meals | Room we checked | What’s included |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| FUFU KYOTO | ¥80,300 | Breakfast | Comfort Twin (hot spring bath in every room) | Consumption tax and service charge included. The booking page doesn’t say whether Kyoto’s accommodation tax and the bathing tax are included. Room-only wasn’t offered. |
| Hanaikada | ¥105,600 | Dinner and breakfast | Detached suite, hot spring open-air bath | Consumption tax and service charge included. The bathing tax (¥150 per person) and Kyoto’s accommodation tax are extra, paid at the ryokan. |
| Hanaikada | ¥55,000 | Dinner and breakfast | 8-tatami room, hot spring stone bath (no view from room or bath) | Same as above. |
| Sumiya Kihoan | ¥86,100 | Dinner (seasonal menu with pufferfish and Tanba beef); breakfast not stated on the plan page | Mountain Terrace Japanese-style room (hot spring open-air bath). One seasonal plan, not the lowest-priced | Consumption tax and bathing tax included, no service charge. Kyoto City’s accommodation tax doesn’t apply in Kameoka. Whether Kameoka or the ryokan charges another tax isn’t confirmed. |
| Nazuna Kyoto Tsubaki St. | ¥161,600 | Room only (breakfast ¥169,200, wagyu dinner ¥191,200) | Five room types, one price: Twin (Take, Mizu), Deluxe (Iwa, Ha, Hana). Semi-open-air bath in the room, not a hot spring | Consumption tax included (¥14,691). Kyoto’s accommodation tax is not included and is paid at the hotel. |
| Ryokan Yachiyo | ¥259,000 | Room only | Japanese Style Deluxe Horai, main building. Private garden bath with a Hinoki wooden tub (the hotel calls it “onsen style”; not stated as hot spring) | Consumption tax and service charge included. Kyoto’s accommodation tax is charged separately, according to the FAQ. |
- Suiran, Seryo and Kadensho: no price. Suiran’s own site listed no onsen rooms for the date, Seryo’s own site showed a bot check that we didn’t try to pass, and Kadensho’s own page showed no prices.
- Shared private baths cost extra. These totals don’t include the fees for reservable shared baths. Hanaikada: ¥2,000 per group, tax not included, reservation required (open 11:00 to 23:00, last entry). Sumiya Kihoan: ¥3,000 for 45 minutes, tax not included, reservation required, up to five guests, 11:30 to 21:00. Ryokan Yachiyo: overnight guests get one 45-minute session free, and a second session costs ¥4,000 if a slot is open (the FAQ doesn’t say whether that includes tax); slots run 17:00 to 21:45, and the FAQ recommends reserving ahead. Kadensho’s five private baths are free and can’t be reserved. FUFU KYOTO and Nazuna Kyoto Tsubaki St. list no shared private bath.
- Cancellation terms vary by rate. For the Nazuna rate above, the booking terms say you can cancel free of charge until March 2, 2027 (23:59 JST), after which 100% applies. See each stay below for the others.
The Stays, One by One
Everything below comes from the sources described at the start of the price section above. We haven’t stayed at these places, so we don’t describe how they feel. We tell you what each property says about itself.
Suiran, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Kyoto
Suiran is a hotel with 39 rooms, and 17 of them have an open-air bath with natural spring water, according to the City of Kyoto’s onsen listing. The listing also says guests can use two private open-air baths, and that the spring is a simple, hypotonic, alkaline one. It’s for overnight guests only.
Suiran’s booking site names seven room types with “Onsen” in the name: Yuzunoha, Shirosumire, Kyotsukikoto, Akatokitsuyu, Togetsu, Gyokuto and Suiran Onsen. Check which type you’re booking.
Access: about 6 minutes on foot from Randen Arashiyama Station and about 15 minutes from JR Saga-Arashiyama or Arashiyama Station.
Not stated on the pages we checked: meals, kids’ rules, tattoo policy, check-in times, private bath fees.
Good fit if a natural hot spring in your own room is the main thing you want in Arashiyama.
Official site: Suiran, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Kyoto (Marriott)
Hanaikada
Hanaikada is a 15-room ryokan about 5 minutes on foot from Hankyu and Randen Arashiyama Stations. The official facilities page lists rooms with open-air hot spring baths: a detached villa suite and Japanese-style rooms of 10 and 8 tatami. It describes the water as a hypotonic alkaline spring. There’s also a reservable open-air bath, open from 11:00 until 23:00 (last entry). The City of Kyoto listing mentions Kyoto-style kaiseki and yudofu, and says the facility takes day visitors as well as overnight guests.
Check-in/out: 15:00 / 10:00 (the detached villa checks out at 11:00).
Rooms with hot spring baths: 4 of the 15 (two Japanese-style rooms and two detached suites).
Cancellation (official policy): 20% at seven days before, 30% at three days before, 50% the day before, and 100% on the day or for a no-show. The policy also counts a guest it can’t reach after 19:30 as a no-show. Some plans have their own schedule (a 30-day early-bird plan starts charging 30 days out), and plan terms on other sites can differ.
Room notes: the 8-tatami hot spring stone-bath room has no view from the room or the bath, according to the ryokan’s booking page. A reservable open-air bath costs ¥2,000 per group (tax not included). Check-in is 15:00–18:30.
ID documents: the booking page says the ryokan asks non-Japanese guests for a copy of a passport or residence document, and that it can’t accept guests who have neither. We haven’t confirmed the legal requirement behind this, so ask the ryokan which documents you need.
Kids: the hot spring room pages list capacities of up to 4 guests and don’t state an age rule. One standard room without a bath doesn’t accept children or infants sharing a bed. A family plan for the 8-tatami hot spring room adds a ¥1,100 facility fee per infant.
Not stated on the pages we checked: tattoo policy.
Good fit if you want a hot spring room within a short walk of the station.
Booking sites may not list the hot spring rooms above. If you want one, book on the ryokan’s own site or confirm the room with the ryokan.
Official site: Hanaikada (in Japanese)
Sumiya Kihoan
Sumiya Kihoan is in Yunohana Onsen in Kameoka, outside Kyoto City. Its official room pages (in Japanese) list private open-air baths with free-flowing hot spring water in six Kihoan rooms (Honami, Seoto, Sawarabi, Tougasumi, Tsuki-Oboro and Seiyu). Six Mountain Terrace rooms (four Japanese-style, two with beds) have hot spring open-air baths on a wooden deck, and the booking page says guests fill the bath with hot spring water themselves. Three more rooms in the Yamano-iori building have an indoor hot spring bath.
Check-in/out: 15:00–19:00 / 11:00.
Kids: children can stay. Four of the six Kihoan hot spring rooms (Honami, Seoto, Sawarabi and Tougasumi) are on the list of rooms children can use. Tsuki-Oboro and Seiyu aren’t on it. The Mountain Terrace rooms don’t accept children, and children aren’t allowed in the dining room at dinner, so their meals are served in the room. Prices change with the meals and bedding you add for them.
Getting there: a shuttle runs by reservation from JR Kameoka Station and Torokko Kameoka Station, with afternoon pickups about once an hour. The JR Sagano Line takes about 20 minutes from Kyoto Station to Kameoka.
Meals: tell the ryokan about allergies or foods you can’t eat in advance. It says it will do what it can.
Not stated on the pages we checked: tattoo policy, cancellation terms.
Good fit if you’d rather stay in a hot spring village than in the city and want a free-flowing hot spring bath in your room.
Official site: Sumiya Kihoan
Seryo
Seryo is a nine-room ryokan on a hill next to Sanzen-in in Ohara. Two rooms have open-air baths: Sakura (up to 3 guests) and Kaede (up to 2 guests). The English room page says guests can enjoy the hot springs from these open-air baths while watching the sunset, and the Japanese room page says the open-air bath’s onsen is available from check-in to check-out. Dinner and breakfast are included, and the official site describes the meals as vegetable kaiseki made with seasonal Kyoto vegetables. The City of Kyoto lists Seryo as a hot spring facility with a simple thermal spring, and says the open-air bath is for overnight guests only.
Good to know: the hot spring page describes the spring as natural water from Ohara, and it says the baths it lists use circulated, heated water. That page covers the shared baths. It doesn’t describe how the room baths’ water is handled separately, so ask if the details matter to you.
Not stated on the pages we checked: travel time from Kyoto Station, kids’ rules, tattoo policy, cancellation terms.
Good fit if you want a quiet, meal-inclusive stay away from central Kyoto.
Booking sites may not list Sakura or Kaede, the two rooms with open-air baths. Ask the ryokan how to book those two rooms.
Official site: Seryo
FUFU KYOTO
FUFU KYOTO is in the Nanzen-ji area of Kyoto, about 7 minutes on foot from Keage Station. The official FAQ says all guest room baths use natural hot spring water, and the hot spring page describes a simple, hypotonic alkaline spring in cypress baths. The official site lists six room types. There are no communal baths, and the FAQ says the hot spring isn’t open to guests who aren’t staying overnight.
- Kids: children of all ages are welcome. Guests aged 0–12 pay ¥1,650 per person per night (tax included), and guests aged 13 and older count as adults. An extra bed set for ages 0–12 costs ¥3,300, and children’s dinners run from a free rice or porridge set to ¥9,350 for a children’s kaiseki (the adult dinner is ¥19,800).
- Meals: dinner is served in the restaurant (reservation needed). Breakfast is served in the restaurant or, with advance arrangement, in your room. The FAQ says the hotel does its best with dietary restrictions, but very strict ones may be difficult.
- Getting there: the official access page gives the subway from Kyoto Station (Karasuma Line to Karasuma Oike, then the Tozai Line to Keage Station) and a 7-minute walk (about 20 minutes by taxi). There’s no shuttle.
- Cancellation (hotel’s standard terms, 1–14 guests): 20% six to seven days before, 50% two to five days before, 80% the day before and on the day, and 100% for a no-show. Nothing is listed for eight or more days before. Read the terms of the plan you book.
- Check-in/out: from 15:00 / until 11:00.
Not stated on the pages we checked: tattoo policy, and whether the hot spring water is circulated or heated.
Good fit if you want a hot spring bath in every room within reach of central Kyoto and Nanzen-ji, and you’d like a subway-reachable stay.
Official site: FUFU KYOTO
Kadensho (Arashiyama)
Kyoritsu Resort runs three Kadensho in Kyoto City. This is the one in front of Hankyu Arashiyama Station, about 1 minute on foot, and its official site says all guest rooms were renovated in May 2026. Here’s the part worth reading closely. The official bath page labels each of the five private baths “wakashi-yu,” which means heated water. It names the indoor stone bath in the large bath as the natural Arashiyama Onsen, and it says the large bath’s open-air rock bath isn’t hot spring. The private baths are free, you don’t reserve them, and they’re open 24 hours. An “in use” lamp shows when one is taken. The official spring data lists a simple, weakly alkaline spring at 35.2°C.
Check-in/out: from 15:00 (last check-in 25:00) / until 11:00.
Cancellation (official standard terms): 10% from seven days before, 20% from four days, 50% from two days and 100% on the day. Individual plans can have their own policy, so read the plan you book.
Kids: no age limit stated. Children from age 3 up to preschool age pay a ¥2,200 facility fee (tax included) even without bedding or meals, and there are no children’s-size yukata.
Not stated on the pages we checked: tattoo policy.
Good fit if you want easy private bathing next to the station, and you’re fine with heated (wakashi-yu) water in the private baths.
The five private baths are shared by all guests, so they don’t depend on the room you book.
Official site: Kadensho (Arashiyama) (in Japanese)
Nazuna Kyoto Tsubaki St.
The official page says Nazuna Kyoto Tsubaki St. has 23 rooms, each with a semi-open-air private bath. A rate note on the booking page says “(Some guest rooms excluded)” without naming rooms. The five room types the booking page lists (Take, Mizu, Iwa, Ha and Hana) are the same five the official page describes as having the bath, so we couldn’t tell which rooms the note means. The room pages for all five types describe a private half open-air bath, but confirm the bath for the exact room type you book. It also says: “The semi-open-air bath in the room is not a hot spring.” The hotel is about 7 minutes on foot from Hankyu Omiya and Keifuku Shijo-Omiya. The official FAQ says it’s roughly 10 minutes by taxi from Kyoto Station, or you can take city bus 6 or 206 from Kyoto Station to the Omiya Matsubara stop.
- Kids: guests aged 5 and under aren’t accepted (the booking terms say children aged 6 and up).
- Meals: dinner is an 11-course wagyu yakiniku meal with seatings at 17:30 or 20:00. You need a reservation, and the FAQ says vegetarian and vegan guests can’t be accommodated. Breakfast is a dashi tea-over-rice set or a western spread, also by reservation.
- Cancellation: the official FAQ lists 20% at seven days before and 100% at three days before or for a no-show, without the days in between. The booking terms for the room-only rate we checked say free cancellation until March 2, 2027 (23:59 JST) for a March 10 stay, then 100%.
- Check-in/out: from 15:00 (the booking terms list 22:00 as the latest) / 11:00.
Not stated on the pages we checked: tattoo policy.
Good fit if you want a private bath in your room in a central location and don’t need hot spring water, and you aren’t traveling with a young child.
Official site: Nazuna Kyoto Tsubaki St.
Ryokan Yachiyo
Yachiyo sits next to Nanzen-ji. The official FAQ puts it about 5–10 minutes on foot from Keage Station and about 25 minutes by taxi from Kyoto Station. Six rooms in the main building have a private garden bath with a Hinoki wooden tub, which the ryokan calls “onsen style.” That describes the style of the bath, not the water. The FAQ says the ryokan’s bath is a traditional Japanese-style public bath and not a naturally sourced hot-spring bath, and it doesn’t describe the room baths or the private bath separately, so we couldn’t confirm what water they use. There’s also a private bath. One 45-minute session is included free, and a second one costs ¥4,000 if it’s available. Slots run between 17:00 and 21:45.
- Kids: children are welcome, and the ryokan can arrange bedding and meals by age.
- Tattoos: the FAQ says guests with tattoos are welcome in the bath facilities. Shower first and follow the usual bathing etiquette.
- Rooms: the main building has seven renovated rooms: six with a private garden bath with a Hinoki wooden tub (the ryokan calls it “onsen style”) and one sauna suite. A room-only plan was available for March 10, 2027.
- Meals: dinner menus run from ¥4,000 to ¥22,770 per person. Vegetarian and vegan guests are accommodated with advance notice.
- Cancellation (official FAQ): for meals, 30% from three days before, 50% on the day and 100% for a no-show. Room cancellation depends on the plan and where you book.
Good fit if you’re traveling with children or you have tattoos, and you care more about the garden setting than a hot spring bath.
Official site: Ryokan Yachiyo
How to Choose
- Hot spring water in the room is non-negotiable: start with Suiran, Hanaikada, Sumiya Kihoan, Seryo or FUFU KYOTO, then check the room type you’re booking. FUFU KYOTO is the one that says every guest room bath is hot spring.
- You want a private bath in a central spot: FUFU KYOTO (Nanzen-ji area) says the water is hot spring in every room. Nazuna Tsubaki St. gives you a private bath in a central spot too, but its booking page says the water isn’t hot spring.
- You’re traveling with kids: Yachiyo and FUFU KYOTO welcome children of all ages. Sumiya Kihoan takes children in some rooms (check the room list). Nazuna Tsubaki St. doesn’t accept guests aged 5 and under. Kadensho states no age limit but charges a facility fee for children aged 3 to preschool. For Suiran and Seryo we couldn’t find a rule, so ask.
- You have tattoos: only Yachiyo says so on the pages we checked. Ask any other stay before you book.
- You’d like to walk to a station: Kadensho, Hanaikada and Suiran are all in Arashiyama, with walking times from 1 to about 15 minutes depending on the station. FUFU KYOTO is about 7 minutes from Keage Station.
- You want a quiet stay away from the city: Seryo (Ohara) and Sumiya Kihoan (Kameoka).
Before You Book: A Checklist
- Room type. Hot spring water often applies to specific rooms, not the whole property. Check the exact room you’re booking.
- Age limits. Look at the property’s rule before you pick a plan.
- Cancellation terms. The terms on a property’s own site can differ from the terms of the plan you book on another site. Read the terms on the page where you book.
- Accommodation tax. Kyoto City charges this tax per person, per night, on lodging in the city. For stays from March 1, 2026, the rate depends on the room-and-service charge per person per night. That charge leaves out meals and consumption tax, and booking-site points don’t lower it, according to the City’s FAQ. The rates: ¥200 under ¥6,000; ¥400 from ¥6,000 to under ¥20,000; ¥1,000 from ¥20,000 to under ¥50,000; ¥4,000 from ¥50,000 to under ¥100,000; and ¥10,000 at ¥100,000 or more. The City says you pay it to the property, and it may already be in what you pay a booking site or travel agency. One ryokan FAQ we read lists older amounts, so use the City’s page.
- Kameoka is different. Sumiya Kihoan is in Kameoka, outside Kyoto City, so Kyoto City’s accommodation tax doesn’t cover it. Kameoka’s tax pages list a hot spring bathing tax, and we didn’t see an accommodation tax listed there, but we haven’t confirmed what the city or the ryokan charges. Ask the ryokan.
- Hot spring bathing tax. Kyoto City also charges ¥150 per person per night at taxable hot spring facilities, with children up to elementary-school age exempt. The City’s list of taxable facilities (as of June 1, 2026) includes Suiran, Hanaikada, Kadensho (Arashiyama), Seryo and FUFU KYOTO. Kameoka charges ¥150 per person per day, with children under 12 exempt. Check whether your plan includes it.
- ID documents. Hanaikada’s booking page asks non-Japanese guests for a copy of a passport or residence document. Ask each property which documents you need to show.
- Meals. Dinner often needs a reservation. If you eat vegetarian, vegan or avoid certain foods, ask first: the policies we found range from “can’t accommodate” to “with advance notice.”
- Private bath rules. Some need a reservation or have time slots and fees. Others don’t. We listed what each page says above.
- Tattoos. Ask the property if its page doesn’t mention it.
Frequently Asked Questions
Is a private bath the same as a hot spring?
No. A private bath can be filled with ordinary heated water, and another can be filled with hot spring water. Kadensho is an example: its official page labels the private baths “wakashi-yu” (heated water) and names only the indoor stone bath in the large bath as natural Arashiyama Onsen. Nazuna Kyoto Tsubaki St. is another: its booking page says the bath in the room isn’t a hot spring. Heated doesn’t rule out hot spring, though: hot spring water can be heated or recirculated too, as Seryo’s page describes.
Which stays here say their room baths use hot spring water?
Suiran (17 rooms), Hanaikada (its hot spring open-air rooms), Sumiya Kihoan (the rooms listed above), Seryo (its two rooms with open-air baths) and FUFU KYOTO (all guest rooms). Check the specific room when you book.
Which ones work for families?
Ryokan Yachiyo and FUFU KYOTO say children are welcome (FUFU KYOTO says children of all ages). Sumiya Kihoan accepts children in some rooms, but not in its dinner dining room. Nazuna Kyoto Tsubaki St. doesn’t accept guests aged 5 and under. Hanaikada and Kadensho state no age limit for their hot spring and private bath options. For Suiran and Seryo, we couldn’t find a kids’ rule on the pages we checked.
Are tattoos allowed?
Ryokan Yachiyo’s FAQ says guests with tattoos are welcome in its bath facilities. For the other seven, the pages we checked don’t say, so ask before you book.
Can I visit just for the bath?
Suiran and Seryo are for overnight guests only (City of Kyoto listing), and FUFU KYOTO’s FAQ says its hot spring isn’t open to guests who aren’t staying. The City’s listing says Hanaikada takes day visitors as well as overnight guests. Sumiya Kihoan doesn’t accept bath-only visits (day trips need a lunch reservation). For the others, we didn’t find day-use details.
Does the price include tax?
That depends on the booking page. Kyoto’s accommodation tax is set by the City, paid to the property, and may already be included in what you pay a booking site. Sumiya Kihoan is in Kameoka, where Kyoto City’s tax doesn’t apply, and we haven’t confirmed whether another tax applies there. Check what your booking page includes.
Sources We Checked (October 7, 2026)
- Suiran: City of Kyoto onsen listing
- Hanaikada: official facilities page and City of Kyoto onsen listing
- Sumiya Kihoan: official room pages
- Seryo: official English room page, official room page (Japanese), official hot spring page (Japanese) and City of Kyoto onsen listing
- FUFU KYOTO: official FAQ, hot spring page, room page and access page
- Kadensho (Arashiyama): official bath page
- Nazuna Kyoto Tsubaki St.: official page and official FAQ. Prices and terms from the hotel’s booking site.
- Ryokan Yachiyo: official site and official FAQ
- Kyoto accommodation tax: overview and FAQ for guests
- Kyoto hot spring bathing tax: City of Kyoto
- Kameoka hot spring bathing tax: Kameoka City
Prices for March 10, 2027 came from the properties’ own booking sites (FUFU KYOTO, Hanaikada, Sumiya Kihoan, Nazuna Kyoto Tsubaki St. and Ryokan Yachiyo), checked on October 7, 2026 and rechecked on October 10 and October 12, 2026.
Plan the Rest of Your Kyoto Trip
- Hiring a guide for your Kyoto days? See our Kyoto private tour guide comparison.
- Looking for a guided dinner in Gion or a Nishiki Market brunch? Compare Kyoto food tours.
- Want to try a tea ceremony in Kyoto? See our Kyoto tea ceremony comparison.
- Adding a day trip to Nara? Read our Nara private tours guide.
- Heading on to Osaka? Compare options in our Osaka private tour guide.
- Need data on arrival? Here’s our Japan eSIM comparison.